Your child’s autism WILL Reverse (or why the Kurz Study is no better than anecdote?)

Those of you who are familiar with the six-month Kurz Study may have looked at the result;

Compared to baseline, significant improvements were observed for hyperactivity, lethargy, irritability, stereotypy and inappropriate speech at follow-up (p=0.043).

Then wondered about what that “P=0.043” actually means? I suspect, and please correct me if I am wrong, that there is a 4.3% chance that the child’s behaviour under the drug is, by chance, a rare period of good behaviour which, according to my calculation (0.5/0.043=11.627), would occur every 12 years or so by chance anyway.

Looking at it another way. If that child’s parents had tried a different treatment every 6 months for 12 years or more, sooner or later one of those treatments will appear to work!

Until larger studies are released (they’re under way), there’s very little point in trying to convince a scientifically trained medical sceptic that cannabinoids are almost certainly medicine for autism.

Prefer a picture? XKCD:882 comes to our aid.

(In other news, as luck would have it, we did find someone with both Autism and MS on Cannabis for Autism on Facebook! I say ‘luck’ because with only 6 Swedish members, that’s 0.44% of ~1360. Finding someone from Sweden with MS and ASD would not usually occur at random within a human lifetime.)

About cannabisforautism

An Ashtanga Yoga teacher, dedicated to improving the health and welfare of those involved in mental health issues, substance use or homelessness. I am also striving to put an end to the perception of the substance user as someone who makes incorrect choices. Striving for a world where there are no 'drug abusers' or 'addicts', just substance users with health concerns and sometimes financial and legal confounds. It is possible to use many substances and still remain happier and healthier than your peers. The notion that a substance user must become unhealthier as time goes by is false. I hope you enjoy reading my blog. It's about autism treatments and a few other odds and ends. Thank you and take care, Jules
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Your child’s autism WILL Reverse (or why the Kurz Study is no better than anecdote?)

  1. Matt P says:

    As an aspie who has used Cannabis for over thirty years to modulate the aggression involved in my particular variant of ASD, I know that Cannabis is MEDICINE for AUTISM. It stops us killing NT’s.

  2. Hi Matt, thanks for popping in. May we ask, is your doctor aware? Do you have a formal diagnosis?

    Cannabis stops us from making people (including NTs) want to kill us too, in my experience.

  3. Matt P says:

    Yes my doctor knows.
    Yes I have a formal diagnosis.
    Yes others do cope better with my eccentricities when I have medicated.
    I can personally name over 2000 people who’s lives have been saved by me using Cannabis and yet the government calls me a criminal for not killing NTs, go figure…..

  4. Thank you for that Matt. Has your doctor supported your use of cannabis and has he put anything in writing? Here in the UK, doctors (and psychiatrists) sometimes will support use of cannabis medically but they are afraid to write a recommendation.

    I know what youy mean about cannabis stopping us from ‘hurting’ others. It’s difficult to get this concept across to some people without them interpreting it as a threat: “Give me cannabis or I will hurt people”!

  5. Matt P says:

    Most people do not ‘get’ aspie humour either, such is life. I hate the way NTs “interpret” what we say instead of LISTENING to our words. That is what causes most of our problems in society.

    My Doctor did an “expert certificate” stating she is aware I use and is not aware of any adverse effects. She also stated she has NOTHING to offer me for pain relief as none of their drugs actually give relief from the back pain I also experience due to the results of a bullying attack I received at 12 years of age in the school yard.

  6. That’s similar to what the psychiatrist gave me (or rather, he give to my doctor and I intercepted it). He gave the doctor a letter describing symptoms of asperger’s and describing my chronic and heavy cannabis use with a conspicuous absence of any ‘Cannabis use disorder’ (which is what one would expect to get if one told a psychiatrist that one smokes 2 grams of skunk per day, and the psychiatrist thought that the cannabis was not helping).

    Glad to hear cannabis helps your pain. Is it enough? I hope you are getting good medicine?

  7. Matt P says:

    Aspie diag was by Govt Psychologist, well before meeting current GP.

    Cannabis does help the pain mostly which is good because things like oxy and morph DON’T give any relief. Yes we have good meds.

Leave a Reply

